So here it is, its the week we get to play with plastercine! Using what we’ve learned about drawing skulls and the Ecorche method we now have to construct a head/skull in 3D. Its time to put what I’ve learned over the last few weeks to the test!

Now, I never had a particular theme or design in mind here, I just had my lump of plastercine and off I went.

I started at the top and worked my way down, and by that I mean I began by working the plastercine into a rough shape of a head with a rounded top before squeezing it slightly to get a skull/head shape. Pressing my thumbs into the plastercine gave instant eye sockets and something to gauge and position the rest of the facial features.

I added a lump to the front and sculpted a nose before starting to smooth off the top a little. Next came the mouth area and before I knew it, I was making a skull – and early on it began to remind me of Victor Meldrew the way it was turning out!

I added a jaw to it and it actually started to look more like Boney from the Trap Door! Again, not intended, that’s just the way it came out. And once I had that in my head I couldn’t think or see anything else.

Boney

Once I finished it I had a few lumps of plastercine left from where I’d altered and shaved off bits here and there. I felt it was missing something so I moulded a cigar for him to smoke – classy, no? Here it is, -the final creation;

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I do like the mix of skull and features here – boney with a nose. I like how it’s turned out. I did make some eyes but they just didn’t look right on the model so I left them out.

What I hadn’t realised when I was making it though is how high that jaw bone is. Its way too far into the back of the skull and should have been a lot smaller and further down from where it is. The thing is, the first jaw was. I had to remake it as the first was too small and didn’t fit the skull. It seems as though I messed up a little and forgotten about the dimensions I needed to work in. I managed to get the front part to fit fine but once the camera pans around to the sides it shows the error instantly.

I need to keep things like this in mind constantly. Its easy to focus on one viewpoint and completely forget about looking at it from another angle.

I am impressed with myself for creating what I have. This skull came from nothing. Not a piece of reference material, not a guide to follow – nada. It all came from the inside of my head remembering what I’ve learned from previous weeks and putting everything into practice. And although there’s errors in it that I can see now, later, I enjoyed it immensely and I’ve love to have another stab at it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

